"Provіantskoy magazein" - that is how marked the second "n" shaped building in the fortress, on the plan of 1794, a "mirror reflection" of the barracks building that we recently found...
Why it was needed, that "magazein?" At first glance it might seem that it was a common element of economic infrastructure of the fortress ... But no, it's not that simple. This is not an easy army "Chepok" and certainly not a "store" in the usual sense of this word.
"Provіantsky magazein" or tsehgauz in Adzhiderska Fortress was an object of a critical importance, with strategic warehouse inventory provisions, including - in the case of the invasion of the south bank of the Dnestr estuary (which actually happened in 1806) and the conduct of hostilities. At the time, up to 150,000 quarters of rye and wheat (1 quarter - 209.9 liters) were kept there. In general, given the fact that for the Russian soldier the northern Black Sea of the sample of XVIII - XIX century, was not the most peaceful place on the borders of the Empire, that diminish the importance of this subject and to the fortress garrison, and for the army as a whole it is quite difficult…
But let us return to our today. On the basis of the first successful experience with the discovery of the foundation of barracks and magnetometry data, to find the remains of the fortifications of the second one was not difficult, we just had to dig, and another trench cut through the foundations of magazeina.
Already have been made familiar to us measurements. Dry figures and formulations. Nothing more:
This is how archaeology would look like on the paper:
"Width of the north-western wall of the northern and southern stratigraphic slice - 0.82 m, the depth of the foundation is 0.55-0.6 m.
At the northern edge of the trench there is a remnant of the foundation: 4 large flat stones with a total area of 1.05 x 0.76 m thickness of the remaining stones 0,09 x 0,12 m. South stratigraphic section of the north-west wall has shown that this is where the stones were selected and completion of the foundation pit represented a clam shell-clay kroshevo.
Northern stratigraphic section of the south-eastern wall along by the characteristic is identical to the southern slice of the north wall. The depth of the foundation pit –is 0.49 pm. The remains of the filling of the foundation pit of the southern wall remained, which is a dense lime-clay medley. Wall Thickness - 0,84 m.
The total width of the building - 12,6 m, which is consistent with the plan of de Volan. Inside the building, at a distance of 4.9 m from the inner plane of the south wall and 4.6 m from the north, discovered the remains of shelly clay-compaction measuring 1.2 by 0.86 m and a capacity of 0.14 m Perhaps it is the remains of paving sex".
Approximately such data, strictly, in a scientific way... But they will allow us soon to find a second life for the castle architecture. Because now we know exactly where there was the main building of "magazeina." And this knowledge will form the basis for the revival of the unique fortification object XVIII - XIX centuries, but for now...
For now they only give us a right to say - That’s it - "provіantskoy magazein" is ours, gentlemen!